Promoting Protected Characteristics



The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation because of the protected characteristics that we all have.

Under the Equality Act, there are nine protected characteristics:

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Race -  including colour, nationality, ethnic or national origin
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or civil partnership
  7. Sex
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Pregnancy and maternity

No form of discrimination is tolerated at Hexham First School and our pupils show respect for those who share the protected characteristics. 

We do not teach about all the protected characteristics in every year group. The curriculum is planned and delivered so that our pupils develop age appropriate knowledge and understanding during their time at Hexham First School. 

The 9 Protected Characteristics are actively promoted in school through:
Our school values and school commitment plan

Our school behaviour policy
Conscious role modelling by all adults in the school community

Active engagement and communication with parents and carers


•Commando Joe character curriculum
Discussion within curriculum subjects, taking across-curricular approach

Promoting articulation by building appropriate language and a coherent vocabulary

Personal, Social, Health and Economic education (PSHE) lessons
Religious Education (RE) lessons using approved Northumberland SACRE
Pupil Voice

Educational visits

School council

Extra-curricular activities, after-school clubs, charity work and work within the local community
You must consent to the use of advertising cookies to allow this YouTube video to show.